Skip to content

Chasing Rabbits into a Hutch.

July 21, 2014

Let’s be honest, it has been a while. Suffice to say that things are busy as things tend to be when life is being lived. Hopefully, lived well. Anyway, several other bloggers have both overtly and unconsciously prompted me to put keyboard to Text Editor, and well, here we are.

First the state of my writing. Egads! I am still thrashing my way through the sixth story in “The Curriculum Vitae of Ignatius St. Eligius” series. I do not know why, but I am stalled a little more than halfway through. Part of the problem is other writing projects. Chris Stocking’s post on Snapshot Fiction outlines ‘chasing rabbits’ and the benefits of flash fiction.

I enjoy flash, it is concise and evocative and truly tricky. My problem is that I have a number of side ‘rabbits’ that are not flash length. Shall we do a summary, yes I think we shall.

Current Projects:

Episode 6 in the Curriculum Vitae of Ignatius St. Eligius. As mentioned, I am more than halfway through. Though halted at the moment. My episodic steampunk tale is nearly at an end, but I just cannot seem to bring it ’round to a close.

Mark 4.0. This is a successor to the Curriculum Vitae in that it takes place a number of years after (about 25-30). It is a three part novel centering on one of the Automata that found their beginnings with Ignatius’s fellow inventor Johnathan Fawkes. I am about four or five chapters into the first part. There are fragments of parts 2 and 3 floating around.

I wrote and completed a short story associated with Mark 4.0.

Ronin 3 My anthropomorphic fantasy of feudal Japan with Cats as the main characters. This reached chapter 3, and upon reflection may get a total rewrite. I finished two stories as background pieces and started a third. The third short story is about half finished. Ronin 3 takes place a number of years after ‘The Fall of Akui.

The Missionary Man. A steampunk/weird west tale. I have been thinking about him and another blogger said that she’d read an entire novel about him. Well, that got me thinking and starting to outline said novel.

And then there is a Young Adult project I want to write, but haven’t started quite yet.  Oh, I mean other than the first few pages. And actually, truth be told there is at least two other YA projects.

I need to prioritize and organize and complete one thing at a time. I think that several well known authors have offered the advice of “Start one thing, finish it. Then start the next.” My trouble is too many ideas flood into me and I get distracted from my current work to the next thing. Stay tuned for resolutions and thoughts on that. I will put something into

So yeah, whole lotta rabbits in the hutch. (Wow, topical and yet dipping the toe in the countryfied vernacular.)

The second BIG THING, my e-book ‘Of Man, Myth and Automata’ received a very glowing review from fellow blogger: Anneque Malchien. You can read the full review Over Here. I was surprised and thrilled at the review, so a huge Thank You to Anneque for both reading and writing.

I have submitted the novella, ‘A Chemical Confusion’ (the first in the Ignatius St. Eligius series) for publication consideration over at Brigantine Press. Fingers crossed and all that!

Coming soon, a full review of the latest version of Draft. I have used it for a while now, and I have to say it’s pretty nice for writing. A lot of features and since  it is browser based, runs just about anywhere.

It feels good to post again, I will make an effort to not let as much time lapse again.

Thanks for reading!

steve.

From → General, Writing

One Comment
  1. Anastasia permalink

    I like you, would you like to have dinner sometime;)

Please Leave a Reply