Skip to content

Historically inaccurate.

October 11, 2012

I was standing in the Harrisburg train station this morning, and I noticed a plaque on the wall commemorating the construction of the building. It listed the completion date as 1887. Whoops! See, the trouble is that Ignatius and Angela disembarked at the train station a good 12 or more years BEFORE it had been built. Honestly there probably was something in Harrisburg at that time for passenger service, just not the structure I described. Does this cripple the story? I do not think so. I should double check facts and edit the story. While I am playing fairly loose with history, I do want some semblance to historical Harrisburg. They say the devil is in the details. How true do you think that is? How much accuracy do you try to build into your story?

From → Writing

Leave a Comment

Please Leave a Reply

