Skip to content

Taking Stock of the Sitch.

June 7, 2012

All I have today is a status update. But it’s a good one! First, I want to thank the most excellent Hostess: Susie Lindau. She hosted her second virtual block/blog party and encouraged folks to jump into the comments section and post a link to one of their own posts and then had the opportunity to visit other people. I naturally dipped my toes in that pool, which led to a nice day of people dropping by here to check out the blog. Big Hand to Susie!

It never ceases to amaze me, the giving nature of writers on the internet.

Onto writing. I finished The Phlogiston Precariousness last week. That’s right, the entire story is written and posted! So, by my count there are three more scenes to post. What does that mean you ask? Well, it means that Ignatius is quickly narrowing down his list of potential troublemakers. In related news, I have started writing the second story: A Dirigible Disaster. That actually has multiple meanings! A sign of quality writing to be sure ;)

Speaking of titles, I don’t think ‘The Phlogiston Precariousness’ is going to make it as the title when I go to publish. I am currently testing: ‘A Chemical Confusion.’  The full on title would be: The Chronicles of Ignatious St. Eligius: A Chemical Confusion. What do you think of that? Please let me know, I would like to hear from you readers which you prefer.

I am halfway through the first chapter of this next work and super excited about it. This means that there will be no lapse between stories here. When TPP finishes in three weeks, I’m going to roll straight into ADD.

I also have the outlines for a short story, a novella and a super-secret project in the works. Some of you long time readers may remember The Fall of Akui, well the story is finished, polished up and in line for publication over at Quantummuse.com. The first part is going live in August, and the second in September. I will keep you posted on that.

This weekend I hope to finish editing my short stories for my very first e-pub. It is a fairly random selection, actually it isn’t that random, it is most of QM shorts, plus several other pieces of flash fiction and short work, which may have appeared somewhere else…Yes, I mean some of my Steampunk stuff from here. Of course the hurdle after getting the stories edited will be cover art.  I do not know any artists personally and I really do not have the finances to commission a cover. So that leaves me, myself and I.

I found a surprisingly good article on creating book covers using Photoshop and a picture you have lying around. I do not have that link handy, but I will update this post with it today.

I recently joined The WanaTribes, the brainchild of writer and blogger Kristen Lamb, whose blog is completely worth reading. She discusses Social Media and Writing. How writer’s can use the new Digital Age to their advantage. She also (Just as importantly) writes on how to balance your life with writing. She talks the talk, because she is walking the walk. WanaTribes is a social site for those of a writing persuasion. You can find me in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Steampunk tribe started by the brilliant Chris Stocking.

Right. Back on message then. Busy, busy, busy. Loving it though. I’ve taken to doodling at work and a lot of little free-spirited wind-up automatons are being drawn.

Seriously, thank you everyone for dropping in and reading along! I would love to hear from you all, so please don’t be shy, drop a line in the comments. Part of this blog is reaching out to make connections with writers and readers alike!

Thanks for reading, you are all the best looking audience (ever!)

steve.

From → Writing

2 Comments
  1. Congrats on all your progress Steve! What an energetic and uplifting post!! To be honest, I love ‘The Phlogiston Precariousness’ but I can understand how much of a mouthful that would be – Chemical Confusion is just as powerful though so I say stick with that :)

    • Thank you for weighing in on the subject. I love the title, because of its steampunkish sound, but admit the other is less intimidating.

Please Leave a Reply

